The Washington DC Area Film Critics Association (WAFCA)

2002 WAFCA Awards
Washington DC Film Critics Name
Nicholson and Moore as Best of 2002

"Road to Perdition" Named Best Film,
3-Way Tie for Best Director

(Washington, DC)—Oscar hopefuls Jack Nicholson ("About Schmidt") and Julianne Moore ("Far From Heaven") have been chosen by The Washington DC Area Film Critics Association (WAFCA) as the best actor and actress of 2002. The group's inaugural year-end selections also included a three-way tie for Best Director between Spike Jonze ("Adaptation"), Sam Mendes ("Road to Perdition") and first time director Denzel Washington ("Antwone Fisher"), while "Road to Perdition" was named Best Film of the year by the 23- member group.

WAFCA also honored the cast of "Barbershop" as the best acting ensemble, while selecting "Lilo and Stitch" as Best Animated Feature and dishonoring the George Clooney/Steven Soderbergh film "Solaris" as the year's biggest disappointment.

WAFCA President Tim Gordon stated that, "This year's inaugural awards mark the beginning of a long-term process to raise the profile of Washington, DC as a key market for the film industry, and a city full of the country's leading and most diverse critical voices. With the large amount of high-quality films this year, choosing the best performances was quite a challenge."

WAFCA is comprised of Washington, DC area film critics from local newspapers, television, and radio. Award winners were chosen from among films that opened in the Washington DC area between January 1 and December 31, 2002. Voting was conducted from December 16 - 20, 2002.

2002 Washington, DC Area Film Critics Association Awards
    Best Film
    Road To Perdition

    Best Actor
    Jack Nicholson - About Schmidt

    Best Actress
    Julianne Moore - Far From Heaven

    Best Supporting Actor - tie
    Chris Cooper - Adaptation
    Dennis Haysbert - Far From Heaven

    Best Supporting Actress
    Kathy Bates - About Schmidt

    Best Director - tie
    Sam Mendes - Road to Perdition
    Denzel Washington - Antwone Fisher
    Spike Jonze - Adaptation

    Best Ensemble

    Best Screenplay, Original
    Nia Vardalos - My Big Fat Greek Wedding

    Best Screenplay, Adapted
    Charlie Kaufman - Adaptation

    Best Animated Feature
    Lilo and Stitch

    Best Documentary
    The Kid Stays in the Picture

    Biggest Disappointment

    Best Guilty Pleasure
    Undercover Brother


Awards Archive

Awards Information

©2023 The Washington DC
Area Film Critics Association

a Haunted Sideshow production