

2024 WAFCA AWARDS NOMINATIONS ANNOUNCED: THE BRUTALIST, CONCLAVE, AND WICKED VIE FOR TOP HONORS

(Washington, DC - December 7, 2024) - The Washington Area Film Critics Association (WAFCA) today unveiled its nominees for the 2024 WAFCA Awards, celebrating outstanding achievements in cinema. This year's nominations reflect the diverse and exceptional talent in the film industry, with 47 films vying for top honors across 21 categories.

The 200-minute epic, "The Brutalist" faces close competition from a Vatican "Conclave" and the "Wicked" Witch of Oz

Founded in 2002, WAFCA has grown into a mainstay of film criticism, comprising over 50 dedicated critics from the Washington D.C., Maryland, and Virginia areas. The membership represents a cross-section of media platforms, including broadcast, print, and digital outlets, reflecting the evolving landscape of film criticism. In its 23rd year, the annual WAFCA Awards have solidified WAFCA as a respected voice, underscoring thoughtful, incisive criticism and a commitment to recognizing cinematic excellence.

Leading the nominations this year is "The Brutalist" with 10 nominations, including Best Feature, Original Screenplay, and a Director nod for Brady Corbet. The A24 film is closely followed by "Conclave" and "Wicked" with 9 and 8 nominations respectively. These films are a tribute to the epic tales and music of classic celluloid—they've captivated critics and audiences, showcasing the best in cinema over the past year.

This year's WAFCA Awards will also include special recognition categories, such as Best Stunts which honors outstanding achievement of stunt coordinators and their teams.

WAFCA is pleased to announce the following nominations for its 2024 Awards:

Best Original Score

"Blitz" – Hans Zimmer

"Challengers" – Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross

"Conclave" - Volker Bertelmann

"Nosferatu" – Robin Carolan

"The Brutalist" – Daniel Blumberg

"The Wild Robot" - Kris Bowers

Best Editing

"Anora"

"Conclave"

"Dune: Part Two"

"The Brutalist"

"Wicked"

Best Cinematography

"Conclave"

"Dune: Part Two"

"Nickel Boys"

"Nosferatu"

"The Brutalist"

Best Production Design

"Dune: Part Two"

"Gladiator II"

"Nosferatu"

"The Brutalist"

"Wicked"

Best International Film

"Dahomey"

"Emilia Pérez"

"Flow"

"I'm Still Here"

"The Seed of the Sacred Fig"

Best Documentary

"Dahomey"

"Daughters"

"Music by John Williams"

"No Other Land"

"Super/Man: The Christopher Reeve Story"

"Will & Harper"

Best Animated Feature

"Flow"

"Inside Out 2"

"Memoir of a Snail"

"The Wild Robot"

"Wallace and Gromit: Vengeance Most Fowl"

Best Adapted Screenplay

"Conclave" – written for the screen by Peter Straughan

"Dune: Part Two" - written for the screen by Denis Villeneuve, Jon Spaihts

"Nickel Boys" – written for the screen by RaMell Ross, Joslyn Barnes

"Sing Sing" – written for the screen by Clint Bentley, Greg Kwedar

"Wicked" – written for the screen by Winnie Holzman, Dana Fox

Best Original Screenplay

"Anora" - Sean Baker

"A Real Pain" - Jesse Eisenberg

"Challengers" – Justin Kuritzkes

"The Brutalist" - Brady Corbet, Mona Fastvold

"The Substance" - Coralie Fargeat

Best Youth Performance

Alisha Weir - "Abigail"

Alyla Browne - "Furiosa: A Mad Max Saga"

Elliott Heffernan - "Blitz"

lan Foreman – "Exhibiting Forgiveness"

Isabel DeRoy-Olson - "Fancy Dance"

Izaac Wang - "Didi"

Zoe Ziegler – "Janet Planet"

Best Voice Performance

Amy Poehler – "Inside Out 2"

Auli'i Cravalho - "Moana 2"

Brian Tyree Henry – "Transformers One"

Lupita Nyong'o - "The Wild Robot"

Maya Hawke - "Inside Out 2"

Best Acting Ensemble

"Anora"

"Conclave"

"Dune: Part Two"

"Sing Sing"

"The Brutalist"

"Wicked"

Best Supporting Actress

Ariana Grande – "Wicked"

Aunjanue Ellis–Taylor – "Nickel Boys"

Danielle Deadwyler – "The Piano Lesson"

Isabella Rossellini – "Conclave"

Zoe Saldana – "Emilia Perez"

Best Supporting Actor

Clarence Maclin – "Sing Sing"

Denzel Washington – "Gladiator II"

Guy Pearce – "The Brutalist"

Kieran Culkin – "A Real Pain"

Yura Borisov – "Anora"

Best Actress

Cynthia Erivo – "Wicked"

Demi Moore – "The Substance"

Karla Sofia Gascon – "Emilia Perez"

Marianne Jean–Baptiste – "Hard Truths"

Mikey Madison – "Anora"

Best Actor

Adrien Brody – "The Brutalist"

Colman Domingo – "Sing Sing"

Daniel Craig – "Queer"

Ralph Fiennes – "Conclave"

Timothee Chalamet – "A Complete Unknown"

Best Director

Brady Corbet – "The Brutalist"

Denis Villeneuve - "Dune: Part Two"

Edward Berger - "Conclave"

Jon M. Chu - "Wicked"

Sean Baker – "Anora"

Best Feature

"Anora" (Neon)

"Conclave" (Focus Features)

"Sing Sing" (A24)

"The Brutalist" (A24)

"Wicked" (Universal Pictures)



WAFCA ALSO HONORS:

The Joe Barber Award for Best Portrayal of Washington, DC

"Civil War"

"Daughters"

"Shirley"

"Stopping the Steal"

Best Motion Capture

Eka Darville – "Kingdom of the Planet of the Apes"

Jonno Davies – "Better Man"

Kevin Durand – "Kingdom of the Planet of the Apes"

Owen Teague - "Kingdom of the Planet of the Apes"

Peter Macon – "Kingdom of the Planet of the Apes"

Best Stunts

"Deadpool and Wolverine"

"Dune: Part Two"

"Furiosa: A Mad Max Saga"

"Gladiator II"

"The Fall Guy"

The winners of the 2024 WAFCA Awards will be announced on Sunday, December 8th at 6 PM.

About the WAFCA:

The Washington D.C. Area Film Critics Association (WAFCA) is a group of professional film critics based in Washington, D.C., Maryland, and Virginia. Founded in 2002, WAFCA's mission is to celebrate and promote excellence in cinema. With members representing various media outlets, WAFCA provides a diverse and respected voice in film criticism and annually recognizes outstanding achievements in the film industry through its awards.

###

Press Contact(s):

Tim Gordon, WAFCA President | filmgordon@gmail.com wafca.com/awards